icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross-thin icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: Howe makes three changes for Dortmund tie

Eddie Howe has made three changes to his injury-hit Newcastle United side for their Champions League group stage clash with Borussia Dortmund on Tuesday evening (kick-off 5:45pm GMT/6:45pm CET).

Magpies defender Dan Burn became his team's latest injury victim during the 1-0 Premier League win over Arsenal on Saturday, with a host of other first team players also unavailable for the game at Signal Iduna Park.

And Howe has opted to bring Tino Livramento, Lewis Hall and Joe Willock - who all impressed in the 3-0 Carabao Cup win at Manchester United just under a week ago - into the starting line-up for the fixture against the German giants.

Nick Pope continues in goal, with Hall coming in for Burn at left back, Jamaal Lascelles and Fabian Schär in the middle of the backline and Kieran Trippier at right back.

Sean Longstaff, Bruno Guimarães and Willock line up in midfield, with Livramento and Joelinton looking to provide support for frontman Callum Wilson.

Howe has named eight substitutes for the contest with Edin Terzić's men, with Miguel Almirón and Anthony Gordon - who made way for Livramento and Willock - both included, along with goalkeepers Martin Dúbravka and Loris Karius.

Paul Dummett adds extra experience to the bench, while youngsters Lewis Miley, Lucas De Bolle and Ben Parkinson are also named.

Newcastle United: Nick Pope; Kieran Trippier, Jamaal Lascelles, Fabian Schär, Lewis Hall; Sean Longstaff, Bruno Guimarães, Joe Willock; Tino Livramento, Callum Wilson, Joelinton.

Substitutes: Martin Dúbravka, Loris Karius, Paul Dummett, Lewis Miley, Lucas De Bolle, Miguel Almirón, Anthony Gordon, Ben Parkinson.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite