News. Gayle named in Football Manager team of the season

10 Apr 17

Dwight Gayle has been chosen for the overall EFL team of the season

The frontman has scored 22 goals in the Sky Bet Championship this term, and the team was revealed at an event at the Hilton Park Lane in central London.

Over 650 guests were in attendance as clubs, players and fans were honoured.

Gayle - who was named in the Championship team of the season last month - was one of three forwards in the Football Manager team of the season, which includes players from all three divisions.

He was also nominated for the Sky Bet Championship player of the season, but lost out to Brighton winger Anthony Knockaert.

The Football Manager team of the season is:Goalkeeper - David Stockdale (Brighton & Hove Albion)Right back - Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town)Centre back - Pontus Jansson (Leeds United)Centre back - Sonny Bradley (Plymouth Argyle)Left back - Enda Stevens (Portsmouth)Midfielder - Anthony Knockaert (Brighton & Hove Albion)Midfielder - Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)Midfielder - Josh Morris (Scunthorpe United)Forward - Chris Wood (Leeds United)Forward - Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)Forward - Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United)

Manager - Darren Ferguson (Doncaster Rovers)

Related Content