Academy. Newcastle United confirms Academy retained list

30 May 24

Newcastle United can announce its Academy retained list for the 2024/25 season.

Under-21s trio Jamie Miley, James Huntley and Ellis Stanton have all agreed new contracts, while Nathan Carlyon will be supported by the club throughout his rehabilitation following a long-term injury.

Amadou Diallo and Michael Ndiweni, who made their first-team debuts last season, are among 13 youngsters set for release this summer.

Also departing at Under-21s level are Will Brown, Jude Smith, Jordan Hackett, Matthew Bondswell, Lucas De Bolle, Kyle Crossley, Dylan Stephenson, Shaun Mavididi and Rodrigo Vilca. Under-18s pair Taylor Ross and Carter Milmore complete the list of players leaving the Academy.

Meanwhile, 11 members of the Under-18s squad have agreed their first professional contracts with the club.

Adam Harrison, Aidan Harris, Johnny Emerson, Anthony Munda, Scott Bailey, Sean Neave, Dylan Charlton, Rory Powell, Harry Powell, Josh Donaldson and Darren Palmer are all in line to turn professional this summer.

Academy Director Steve Harper said: “I would like to thank all of the players who are leaving for their efforts throughout their time with the Academy. They have all grown as players and people during their time here and should be incredibly proud of everything they have achieved representing Newcastle United.

"All of the players know that the Academy is here to support them as they prepare for the next steps in their careers. I now look forward to following their journeys and we all wish them every success in the future.

"I would also like to congratulate the players who have agreed new contracts. The hard work continues and it gets tougher every year as they look to continue their development, but they should all take great pride in this recognition and use it as motivation for the season ahead."

Related Content