News. Team news: Trippier starts in Melbourne, Kuol on bench

22 May 24

Kieran Trippier starts for Newcastle United in the Magpies' post-season friendly against Tottenham Hotspur at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Wednesday (kick-off 10.45am BST).

Eddie Howe has made three changes from the side which claimed a 4-2 away win against Brentford on the final day of the 2023/24 Premier League campaign as Trippier, named in England's provisional squad for this summer's EURO 2024 finals on Tuesday, replaces Fabian Schär while Elliot Anderson and Miguel Almirón have been handed starts in place of Sean Longstaff and Jacob Murphy respectively.

Nick Pope retains his place in goal while Emil Krafth, who played as a right-back during Sunday's win against the Bees, will likely feature at centre-back alongside Dan Burn while Lewis Hall, who won the club's Sela Player of the Month award for May, will occupy the left-back role.

Bruno Guimarães, Joelinton and Anderson will be situated in the middle of the park while Almirón and Harvey Barnes will aim to provide attacking support for Alexander Isak, who has netted four goals in his last three appearances against Tottenham.

Australia international Garang Kuol, who joined Newcastle from A-League side Central Coast Mariners in January 2023, has been named on the substitutes' bench and will be aiming to make his Magpies debut this evening while Callum Wilson and Jacob Murphy are experienced options that are available for Howe to deploy.

Harrison Ashby, who spent the duration of the 2023/24 season on loan at Swansea City, is a substitute along with the likes of Alex Murphy, Joe White, Ben Parkinson, Jay Turner-Cooke, Lucas De Bolle and Amadou Diallo.

Teenage duo Ciaran Thompson and Dylan Charlton, both products of Newcastle's Academy, could be in line for their senior bows while Travis Hernes, a professional debutant with Shrewsbury Town before joining Newcastle in September 2023, will be targeting his maiden appearance for United at first-team level.

Newcastle United: Nick Pope, Kieran Trippier (c), Emil Krafth, Dan Burn, Lewis Hall, Bruno Guimarães, Joelinton, Elliot Anderson, Miguel Almirón, Harvey Barnes, Alexander Isak.

Substitutes: Mark Gillespie, Harrison Ashby, Alex Murphy, Ciaran Thompson, Dylan Charlton, Joe White, Travis Hernes, Jay Turner-Cooke, Lucas De Bolle, Jacob Murphy, Callum Wilson, Ben Parkinson, Amadou Diallo, Garang Kuol.

Related Content